Session 1 – Daring Faith: Building a Life of Faith

Daring Faith kicked off with a GREAT start today. It seems apparent that Men will go to a new level as a result of this power packed series.

• Faith is believing when I don’t see it
• Faith is obeying (acting) when I don’t understand it
• Faith is giving when I don’t have it
• Faith is persisting when I don’t feel like it
• Faith is thanking God (in advance) before I receive it
• Faith is trusting God if I don’t get it

  1. The opening verse was Matthew 9:29 –“According to your faith it will be done to you.” What is Jesus saying in this verse?
  1. Pastor Rick states “Today in America and most of the West, we’ve removed all the danger of following Christ. We’ve made it safe, predictable, and innocuous – even bland and boring. We’ve grown afraid to pray brave prayers, to share a brave witness, and to take a brave stand for Jesus Christ in their ethics, their business practices, and relationships. He states that where there is no faith – there will be no miracles. What are your thoughts about this?
  1. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being “nonexistent” and 10 being ” absolutely unshakeable” how would you rate the strength of your faith today?
  1. Of the six facets that Pastor Rick described:
  • Faith is believing when I don’t see it
  • Faith is obeying (acting) when I don’t understand it
  • Faith is giving when I don’t have it
  • Faith is persisting when I don’t feel like it
  • Faith is thanking God (in advance) before I receive it
  • Faith is trusting God if I don’t get it

Which one do you want to strengthen first and why? What practical step can you take to move in that direction?

  1. Who do you know that demonstrates strong faith? What lesson can you learn from their example?
  1. How have you seen God do something extraordinary, even miraculous, in your life or in the life of someone you know? How has that experience impacted the way you think about faith?
  1. Pastor Rick also stated that “the most daring thing you can do in life is to live completely for Jesus Christ.” Where are you at with this?
